Since Connecticut law requires motorists to carry auto insurance, many people purchasing Windham Connecticut auto insurance may question the necessity of uninsured or underinsured motorists coverage. Connecticut drivers primarily need this coverage because it is required under state law. State residents can benefit from understanding why this coverage is so important that it is legally mandated.
Uninsured Drivers Are Not Uncommon
The average driver may face significant expenses following an accident with an uninsured driver. The Insurance Research Council estimates as many as one in seven drivers are uninsured, so the risk of experiencing an accident with one of these drivers is not trivial. Some states near Connecticut, including New Hampshire, do not explicitly require motorists to have insurance, which may make the risk even greater for Connecticut drivers.
State Coverage Minimums May Be Too Low
Connecticut requires the following minimum liability insurance coverage amounts:
- $20,000 for each person involved in the accident
- $40,000 for total bodily injuries sustained during the accident
- $10,000 for property damage
These amounts may not address a severe accident in which a vehicle is totaled, a person sustains devastating injuries, or several people are injured. In such accidents, underinsured motorists coverage kicks in to supplement the at-fault driver’s coverage.
Finding the Right Policy
Uninsured or underinsured motorists coverage is an essential part of any Windham Connecticut auto insurancepolicy. However, drivers may also want to consider additional coverage, such as no-fault coverage and collision coverage. This is the best way to ensure full protection regardless of the circumstances of the accident.