Home » Insurance » Auto Insurance » Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements: A Crash Course

Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements: A Crash Course

Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements: A Crash Course

Recently move to Tennessee? Each state has its own rules and regulations when it comes to auto insurance, so it is essential that you learn what’s expected of you to ensure that you stay on the right side of the law. Tennessee car requirements state that you must have liability insurance so that you’re able to cover any injuries or damages you may cause while behind the wheel. Here’s a closer look at what else is required of you once you become a Tennessee licensed driver.

Liability Car Insurance Requirements for the Volunteer State

In order to adhere to state insurance guidelines, you must carry the following as part of your insurance policy:

  • $25,000 per accident in the event of injury or death
  • $50,000 per accident to cover all injuries or deaths
  • $15,000 per accident in the event that property damage results

While these Tennessee car requirements are unavoidable, other coverage additions are optional. You may want to add collision, comprehensive, uninsured motorist or rental car coverage to your policy to ensure you don’t find yourself in serious financial trouble after an accident. Furthermore, as important as maintaining proper coverage levels is keeping proof of this coverage in your vehicle at all times. If you are pulled over or involved in an accident and cannot immediately furnish proof of insurance, you may be subject to additional fines.